Our Mother’s Day Brunch

Growing up, our family tradition for Mother’s Day and Father’s Day, was to bring the honoree breakfast-in-bed. Although we no longer do the “in-bed” part, we still continue the tradition of making a surprise special meal for the day. So, on Sunday, my sisters and I put together a Mother’s Day “brunch” for our mom. And I have to say, we did a decent job…although she probably won’t appreciate that I’m posting her picture here. Get over it, Mom, there’s another one further down, too. :P~

{ MOTHER’S DAY BRUNCH MENU }

  • Mimosas
  • Coffee and Tea
  • Scrambled Eggs with Spinach, Mushrooms, and Feta
  • Biscuits with Creamed Chipped Beef or Creamed Veggie Sausage
  • Turkey, Beef, and Veggie Bacon
  • Salad of Watercress, Spring Garden Greens, and Fennel with Orange Dressing and Almonds
  • Chocolate Mini Cupcakes with Coffee or Almond Icing
  • Biscuits with Berries and Fresh Whipped Cream

And now to the pictures…
pretty in pink hydrangeas and Tim’s painting, “Sheaf”

Momma: “Mmmm, I love cream chipped beef!”
Me: “Yes, we know. That’s why we made it.”

Timmy’s plate

Too busy eating to talk

Andrea’s diggin’ the veggie bacon

Tamarind, Amy, and Jamie gettin’ jiggy with the desserts

One can never have cupcakes too often…chocolate with almond and coffee icings

Biscuits topped with fresh strawberries, cherries, and fresh whipped cream. Yum!

Does your family have any Mother’s Day traditions?
Did you or your family do anything special for Mother’s Day this year?

One thought on “Our Mother’s Day Brunch

  1. Mother’s Day morning my kids did the breakfast in bed thing. This year Isabel came up with the idea of making my toast using cookie cutters and spelled m-o-m which I thought was brilliant. I opened my card to “Girls just wanna have fun” which my kids know I would appreciate. On the card was a picture of a women wearing a dress with Converse and me being a chic mom also decided “why not” so I wore my 4.00 hip black dress (new to me)with my very purple Converse. Yes, I looked adorable AND my kids were not embarrased. Finally, opened my pressent to find that my husband had remembered I liked these (latina hoop)earring from a pawn shop across the street from my favorite pizza place in K&A. Which BTW, I’m still wearing 3 days later. All in All it was a really nice day.
    Next year I’m going to ask for landscaping work on my front lawn….and the m-o-m toast for sure.

Leave a Reply

