My New (Older-Than-Me) Bike

Last weekend, I found a vintage Peugeot bicycle on Craigslist (thanks, Dgls!). When I called the seller, I was surprised to find out that no one had snatched it up yet, and set a time to check it out. Sunday afternoon, we put the bike rack on the car, packed up Moxie, and drove about an hour northwest to check it out. Long story short, we drove home with a two-wheeled passenger from France. Long story long, we had to stop a few times on the highway to resecure the bike on the rack, which was not designed with the needs of a lady’s bike in mind (big surprise, right?). But, eventually, we got ‘er home in one piece.

I was tempted to add a bling to the back fender in Photoshop, but I resisted. :)


Tourisme Dames PX45 (5-speed) as pictured in the 1975 French Peugeot catalog
(image courtesy of Bike-boom Peugeot)

If you’re into needless details (like I am), you’ll want to know that, as far as I can tell, this particular model was never sold in the U.S. Rather, it was what Peugeot marketed in France and Europe as a Tourisme Dames (Ladies Touring) bike. After comparing it against vintage Peugeot catalogs online, I’ve deduced that it’s a circa 1975 French model PX45. From what I can tell, the bike and all parts are original and made in France, right down to the tires and tool bag.



Michelin 650Bx44mm Semi-Confort Tires. Vertical ribbing on the sidewalls helps turn the generator wheel for the head and tail lights (they still work!). Unfortunately, Michelin no longer makes these tires. Hopefully the dynamo will still work with replacement tires.

I took the bike for a rough test spin up and down our block a couple times. I gently shifted through all five gears, and the chain only slipped once. Not bad, considering. The brake pads are old, so I didn’t expect to be able to stop on a dime, and I was not disappointed in that respect. ;)

At thirty-five years old,  she’s due for a tune up and a sprucin’ up (couldn’t we all say that of ourselves?). Hopefully she’ll be in riding shape sooner rather than later.

Those of you with bikes: where do you like to ride?
Any suggestions for some leisurely rides in the city?

5 thoughts on “My New (Older-Than-Me) Bike

  1. Dear Vicki,

    New bike! How quickly you have forgotten me in your beautiful friend Nereidas’ garage.

    “I took the bike for a rough test spin up and down our block a couple times” HOW DO YOU THINK THIS MAKES ME FEEL!

    -you know who

  2. Green, I really feel your pain. You can come and live in my garage and I will take you for a spin every day into our lovely town of Media.

    I will not forget about you!

  3. such a beautiful, perfect bike and an amazing CL find!

    for leisurely rides in Philly, i’d suggest Forbidden Drive in the Wissahickon and the Schuylkill River Trail which you can take from Center City all the way to Valley Forge…

Leave a Reply

