Mmmm…Matzoh Ball Soup!

A week ago, I completely lost my voice. So, I decided I would make a pot of soup to sooth my throat. I initially thought minestrone, but quickly changed my mind when I found a box of matzoh ball mix in the cabinet. I promptly threw a bunch of stuff in a pot, and and hour later, had yummilish matzoh ball soup! Just to clarify, yummilish is the kind of yummy where you exclaim, “This is really good!” after every other bite (Oh…you don’t do that?).

Fortunately, I wrote down the all the dirty details (except the part where I almost burned the onions), so I can repeat the recipe for the Passover Seder at my parent’s house next week…aaand so I can share it here with you. Oh, and in case you start to wonder, we don’t prepare or eat meat in our house. But that doesn’t mean we can’t make a good bowl of matzoh ball soup!

Vegetarian Matzoh Ball Soup
makes approx. 6 servings (about 12 small matzoh balls)

  • 2 (approx.) T olive oil
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 1/2 tsp coarse/kosher salt
  • 2 stalks celery, sliced
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 1 small parsnip (if available)
  • 1 tsp dried dill (or 1 T fresh)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • one packet (2.5 oz) Manischewitz matzo ball mix
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 T oil
  • 14 cups hot water
  • 8 T (1/2 cup) Frontier™ vegetarian “chicken” broth powder
  • 1 Quorn Naked Chik’n Cutlet*, diced
  • black pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Sauté onion in olive oil for 2-3 minutes.
  2. Add salt, celery, carrot, parsnip, dill, and bay leaf. Cook until onions are clear.
  3. Add water and broth powder, and simmer about 15-30 minutes to blend flavors.
  4. Meanwhile, combine matzoh ball mix with eggs and oil. Refrigerate for 15 minutes.
  5. For each matzoh ball, scoop about 1 T. of dough, and roll into a ball with wet hands.
  6. Add matzoh balls and Quorn* to boiling soup.
  7. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes.
  8. Add black pepper to taste.
  9. Enjoy!

Notes: Quorn* is a vegetarian protein source that approximates chicken in flavor and texture. This was the first time I tried it in soup, and I am quite please that it retained it’s meaty texture through boiling (unlike seitan, which can get rubbery). It is not an essential ingredient, but I highly recommend it if you can find it (we get it at Whole Foods, but it is available elsewhere; see link above). *Quorn products contain egg, milk, and wheat ingredients.

Also, some may say I “cheated” by using matzoh ball mix and broth powder. But, hey, they work. And particularly well, I might add. If you have matzoh meal and tons of veggies, you are welcome to make everything from scratch, and then invite me over for dinner. ;)

I want to hear from all the matzoh ball fans out there! Have you ever had a bowl at a deli or diner that rivaled home-made? If so, please share where! And if you’ve never tried it, what are you waiting for? Get cooking!

Leave a Reply

