Nifty Thrifty

I enjoy an occasional trip to the thrift store. Usually with my friend, who shall remain anonymous (she is a self-admitted addict). My first stop is always the housewares/knick-knacks section (this could be because it starts right as you walk in the door). There’s always a ton of stuff, but not much that catches my eye. Not to mention, their prices are weird. 66¢? $1.91? What happened to the 10¢ glasses and mugs I used to get at the Goodwill back at college? Seriously, though, $1.91? Is that normal? Anyway, I digress…

On my last trip into thriftdom, I was surprised to find several items that I was glad to take home (after paying, of course):

At first, I wasn’t sure about this vintage scale…I like it; it goes with my collection of vintage green kitchen tools, and it seems to function accurately, but the price seemed a bit high…more like an antique shop price, than a thrift shop price. But I emailed Tim a picture of it, and he said I should get it, so I can’t blame it on him. :)

For quite some time, I have been hoping to find some nice dessert or parfait dishes, and I finally came upon this set of four. I like the etched lines and their simplicity (for the most part). I’m not too crazy about the bases – they seem a bit incongruous with the tops. But, good enough.

I grabbed this vintage Phillies logo/1210AM thermos for Tim. So what it says, “Milk: The Fresher Refresher” on the back? There’s no rule that says he can’t use it for coffee. And just in time for baseball season.

Lastly, I just had to get these two Bicentennial glasses. Philly memorabilia + 1976 (our birth year) = home run!

If you’re an active thrifter, I’d love to hear about some of your recent finds!

7 thoughts on “Nifty Thrifty

  1. My beautiful daughter recently found her prom dress. It was only 20.00 and there is no dought she will look stunning come June 4th.
    Another great find were Keens shoes for all three of my younger children. I looked online and these shoes were 50.00 but I paid 5.00 and they were in excellent wearing condition. Lastly, I’ve recetly begun obsessed with a certain brand of puzzle. Its become Sierra and I “thing”. They go for over 15.00 but at the thrift store I go to they go for 1.91.

    BTW, your self admitted addicted thrift store friend sound great!

    • Oh, yes, she is quite the lady.

      I didn’t include anything about clothing in my post, but on my last trip I did get an amazing deal on a pair of jeans (although I didn’t realize until later). They were priced around $8, which I thought was steep, but I figured since most jeans are half that, there must be something “special” about these. When I got home, I looked them up, and they retail for — get this — over $200. Seriously?! Come on. No jeans are worth 200 bucks, people!!!

  2. I really need to go to this store some time! You always find the coolest stuff. If you decide that the base of the glasses really does bother you too much, feel free to pass them on to me :)

  3. Vic,
    I really LOVE the scale & glasses. Tim was right. you’ve nearly inspired me to resume our college (and budget driven) activity of thrifting. Remember those groovy wool coats we got!

    • Jess, I still have my periwinkle coat! The lining is completely shredded, but I can’t bear to get rid of it! Also, remember the article you did for the paper on thrifting? It was a fun night rummaging through stuff and doing “fashion” shots.

  4. Girl I am all about the thrifting! There’s a great place here called Super Thrift about 2 miles from our house and it’s .49cents to .69 cents for cups and plates etc. :O)

Leave a Reply

