Cupcakes!

Last week I made cupcakes for, what I think was, the third time in my adult life. Previously, I’d made them for Valentine’s day and for a friend’s birthday (lemon pound cake/buttercream icing and red velvet, respectively). This time, I made chocolate cupcakes with vanilla buttercream, for no reason in particular.

Actually, I’d been eager to make cupcakes since before the holidays, when I bought a pastry bag and some decorating tips. This time, I found my recipes for cake and icing from the always-dependable, Martha Stewart (FYI: I got 18 cakes using 1/4 cup of batter each, and doubled the icing recipe). The recipes were simple, and the results were especially tasty (what more could you ask for?). Folks, my eyebrows actually raised with surprise upon my first bite into a finished cake! Seriously, they were that good.

This was my first attempt at piping icing. Even though I used the largest decorating tip available at Michael’s (4B), the icing didn’t come out quite as “big” as I wanted it to. Apparently, I need to use an even larger tip (1M) to get the look I’m going for. It’s okay, though. Buttercream is a rich icing, and may be a bit overwhelming in larger amounts.

And I’ll need to get a new one anyway. We went out that evening, and upon our return, found my pastry bag and tip on the living room rug. While we were gone, our cat, Moo, had fished them out of the sink, and then our dog, Moxie used the tip for a chew toy. Needless to say, she rendered it useless. Sigh. Those two are a tag-team of destruction. What are we going to do with them?

2 thoughts on “Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

