Phinally!!! (I’m back and Ork Philly Poster)

I was so excited about getting an email today, that I have been awakened (at least momentarily) from my blog-less slumber.

Said email, was from Ork Posters. Designer, Jenny Beorkrem, first designed herself a poster of the neighborhoods of Chicago several years ago, after she was unable to find a suitable one to hang in her home. From there, she branched out to other U.S. cities (Brooklyn was an instant classic), and now even has a “map” of the human heart. But…

My current excitement is focused on the long-awaited completion of her PHILADELPHIA posters!!! And not only that, but our little ‘hood of Northwood has finally made it big-time (we have escaped the confines of Frankford)!

(Zooming in on Northwood)

There are phour Philly posters to choose from (all 18″ x 24″) – two that are hand-pulled silk-screened versions, and two that are professionally press-printed. And if you know anything about me, you know that I can’t make a decision…especially not a tough one like this!

I love the idea of Eagles teal on Packing Brown Wrap paper…but “Street Grey” on Berrylicious blue paper? And the pop of white ink on Gumdrop Green? But then, who can resist the classic appeal of Black and White?

Hmm…maybe I should get one of each, and hang them throughout the house…What do youse guys think?

7 thoughts on “Phinally!!! (I’m back and Ork Philly Poster)

  1. If you have to choose one, I’d pick the blue. Otherwise, I’d get one of each and change them out seasonally. (Green for spring, blue for summer, brown for fall, and white for winter.)

    • Thanks for your input, Jason. The grey on blue is definitely my favorite…and it would work well in our TV room or bedroom (although, I’d like to have it displayed in a more public area). The only thing is, if I were to choose only one, I would prefer it to be a silk-screened poster for the tactility of it. The teal/brown and white/green are the two silk-screened options. I do like your seasonal idea, though am not sure I’d keep up with it.

  2. i LOVE that poster. we want a b&w one for our new place. i love their typography. i really love the brain and heart posters! aaah!

    good to see you today, friend. i love my “J” pin. Now, I just need a U, L, I, and A.

    :)

  3. Did you really put me in Chestnut Hill? ; – 0 I live in West Mt. Airy bordering the park. Check the borders. West Mt. Airy should be between Chestnut Hill and East Falls. I love the poster anyway!

    Sue

    • Just to clarify, I did not design this poster. Jenny Beorkrem of Ork Posters did. And I give her props! But, now that you say it, it appears that she disregarded the Northwestern strip of Fairmount Park, by merging it into Chestnut Hill…which is probably what led to the border discrepancy you pointed out. Thanks for the head’s up!

Leave a Reply

